candy

17Dec10

bear.6

Pattern: Candy bear by Susan Hickson at Mary Jane’s Tearoom

Yarn:  Brigantia 100% wool DK, Adriafil Carezza Angora, Artesano 100% Alpaca DK, Posh Yarn Emily 4-ply,  Rowan Tweed 4-ply.

Needles: 2.75mm and 3.25mm.

bear.10

Such a cute knit.  Candy is a Christmas gift for my niece (fairly sure she doesn’t read the blog!)  The pattern is beautifully written and is one of several gorgeous soft toys over at Mary Jane’s Tearoom.  I really enjoyed selecting a colour scheme and would love to knit more of Susan’s designs.  Check out her bunnies – may try one of those next.

Today was the last day of school so I can finally get properly organized for Christmas.  That’s if the expected snowfall doesn’t leave us housebound this weekend!  I know that must sound so wimpish to you guys over the pond but seriously – we just don’t deal with snow very well over here.  A few inches brings this country to a standstill!  At least it will mean plenty of knitting time I suppose. :)  I’m going to spend the evening warapping presents and may even have a mulled wine or 2.  Hope you’re all feeling Christmassy too. :D

19 Responses to “candy”

  1. 1 Abigail

    Very cute!!! I would make one for my niece if I didn’t HATE finishing.

  2. 2 Tina J.

    That is the cutest thing I’ve seen in a long time! Well done!!!

  3. awww I bet she loves it! Toys are so much fun to make!

  4. I LOVE the bear ~ what a wonderful gift for your niece!!!! I’ve looked at her patterns and they are adorable but I’ve never seen one in blogland before ~ such a treat to see :)

    My Mom talks about how bitterly cold it is in England and how she would get chillblades (?) on her fingers and toes when she was young and walked to school. Fortunately you guys have lots of hand knits to protect you and keep you warm!

    Have a wonderful Christmas!

  5. Your niece is going to love the bear.
    Cheers to the mulled wine!

  6. The bear is gorgeous – your niece is going to love it!. I’ve always been put off knitting toys because of the huge amount of sewing up!! Enjoy the school holidays – I broke up today too, and had a snowy drive home along the north Norfolk coast. Happy knitting!

  7. She is just adorable … be careful mind as knitting toys sets you on the road to ruin, believe me I know :-). I started a bear ( Twins pattern ) tonight which is for one of the boys Christmas presents , just hope I finish it.

  8. 8 peacefulknitter

    She’s adorable, and I love her clothes!

  9. Hey Amanda, have missed you guys!!!! What an adorable teddie, KNOW your niece will absolutely love this!! Hope you do get to do some knitting in the cold weather you are having, have been watching SKY news a lot, just so I can see what’s happening on your side of the world :)

  10. What a cute bear :) I am feeling VERY Christmasy, and getting back in to knitting too ;-) Great to see you posting, I miss your knits :)
    Have a wonderful Christmas, hope you don’t get too much snow, my Mam said they’d had a ton!!!

  11. Beautiful bouncy bear.
    Beautiful.
    Have a great Christmas. While you are drenched in snow we are rained in – electrical storms, trees down, lost power for hours on end but somehow being wet wet wet seems a lot less severe than being cold cold cold. And now power means evening by candle light playing scrabble for Gawds sake.

    Cheers
    Loani

  12. That bear is so adorable. Your niece will love her!

  13. adorable..what a sweet and perfect gift Amanda~~
    happy holidays to you and yours~

  14. She will surely be your niece’s favourite toy, she’s just adorable.

    You people just don’t know what winter really is – last week in my city the temperature dropped below -10 degrees every night, and we’ve had about 20 cm of snow lying around since the beginning of December. And Poland is not the coldest place in the world after all! In January I’m coming to York for the whole semester and from what I see, Polish winter weather is already there. :)

    Anyway, enjoy your snow and your Christmas preparations!

  15. She is just adorable. I am sure she will be a treasured gift. Good Luck in the snow. We have been watching the chaos on the news. Enjoy your knitting time though :)

  16. Hi Amanda, your comment didn’t have a reply email, so I’m getting back to you hear. If you have the yarn in I’m sure you can get the Bella’s knit before Christmas! I knit one in an afternoon last Sunday. The second one only took longer because I was busy finishing off a hat for someone.

  17. OH how cute is this!

  18. A lucky little girl! That is the sweetest little bear. I see it becoming a family heirloom, I really do. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  19. How cute and the bunnies on her website are adorable! Hope you weren’t snowed in for too long!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

