Chica

30Sep08

These are Motorcycle Chica gloves from Interweave Summer 2007.  I love the way they’re turning out, but am finding knitting the fingers so tedious.  You can’t see from the photographs but these have an open back like a traditional driving glove.  Because of this you start them on straights and change to DPNs for the fingers.  I’ve only ever knit gloves with 4-ply on skinny little DPNs before now, and that’s fiddly enough.  This yarn is Rowan felted tweed and I’m using 3.75mm DPNs.  They just feel so clumsy and huge to knit with. 

So.  Should I persevere with them?  I’ve been forcing myself to knit a digit a day so far.  The funny thing is when I started them I had the idea that I’d be knitting loads of pairs for friends!  Not gonna happen.  I had my fill of fingers last year, so I think I’m going to stick with mittens from now on!

13 Responses to “Chica”

  1. I think they look great. But if you hate knitting them and aren’t going to like them in the end, I say frog away.

  2. i know what you mean. i am still recovering from the summer of gloves, and i have plenty od second gloves to do. i still vote for soldiering on–my sister craves those gloves, and i’m curious to see the end product.

  3. I’m with you on that – I only knit mittens!

  4. You’re half way there I would say ‘Just do it” this time. Sometimes we have to do the hard and not so fun stuff even in knitting which is supposed to be fun, yeah! Just don’t curse me if the last bit drives you crazy! I like colour though.
    Cheers!

  5. It looks lovely! I would say: finish this pair! After that you can decide if you ever want to knit gloves again. I know what I am talking about: I also have a pair to finish….. (started last februari!)

  6. oh do finish…they are really nice!

  7. I love the look of the gloves. I think you need to try it on and see how it fits before you can decide. If it is going to be too loose you won’t enjoy wearing them. But, if it is fitting how you want them to fit then I think you should keep going because they look nice and the felted tweed is such a soft cozy yarn. Just my 2 cents worth!

  8. i say keep going! :)
    i bet that they will look great. you will love them. and they will be well worth the effort!!

  9. Yes, persevere! They are going to be so fantastic!

  10. Absolutely stick with them — they are beautiful.

  11. keep going – you can do it! won’t it be nice – everytime you wear them, you can enjoy how beautiful they are, and also how hard you worked to finish them (this being said, i have a fiddly, annoying baby sweater that i have been unable to finish for weeks. i’ve left it alone and started 2 other projects because right now i can’t stand knitting it! i’ll finish the baby sweater if you finish the gloves!)

  12. Persevere – that pattern is lovely. Mind you I haven’t tried gloves since my early knitting days when I created a giant one!

  13. Well, they do look like they are going to be beautiful, and very elegant, and while you know my views about not knitting stuff you don’t want to, I kind of agree with what others have said. They are relatively small, and if you think you’d love wearing them, maybe it’s worth it?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

