Practice piece

03Sep08

Pattern: Fresco by Pam Allen. Interweave Knits, Fall ’08.

Yarn:  RYC Cashcotton in Ecru, Cyclamen and Chartreuse.

Needles: 2.75mm and 3.25mm DPNs

Modifications:  Only used 3 colours.  A few unintentional modifications too!

 

My first attempt at colourwork.  I didn’t intend for these to be anything more than a swatch for something bigger and better actually, but I quite like them.  They are busting with mistakes of course!  And I don’t imagine they’ll last very long before getting pulled horrendously out of shape, as the yarn doesn’t have much memory.  But hey…they’re pink!!!

I am obviously quite ‘free-style’ in my approach to stranded knitting!  I think it’ll be some time before I get this gauge/float sorted too, so don’t be holding your breath for any Eunny Jang-style brilliance!

20 Responses to “Practice piece”

  1. Those are really pretty! Fabulous job!

  2. Very pretty!

    I am working on the project for which I’ll need to change colours once and I am a bit nervous. I’ll keep looking at your “mittens” for inspiration.

  3. 3 sherral

    Well anyhow, they look super rad!

  4. they are very pretty, and with a pattern like that, no one will see the mistakes but you. (and i got lucky, o.m. drove half the way home, but i still hate re-entry).

  5. I *love* them!

  6. I love these, they’re so pretty. I’m glad autumn is here and it’s time for fingerless mittens!

  7. These are so pretty! Love the colors!

  8. love these–bravo!

  9. I love them:-) I hate doing intarsia but love how it looks, wish I had more patience to do it more often. I still never finished that Lucinda Guy sweater that had flowers on the front!
    I’m still trying to get some Christmas gifts done, I’m determined to be disciplined ;-)

  10. pretty impressive for ‘practice’!!! they look lovely

  11. The colours remind me of watermelons! They are quite happy colours together!

    You obviously have been knitting stranded work in your sleep before these -They are well done!!

  12. I so agree, pink cover a multitude of mistakes, LOL

    I think they look great. I have not tried to knit with 3 different colors yet.

  13. Your colorwork mitts look wonderful. I tried to do colorwork for a sweater, and suffice to say the face is all lumpy now. I am hoping it will be better once I give it a good soaking.

  14. Aww, these are gorgeous!

  15. they are lovely……….i can’t believe that this is your first attempt at color work. they look so great!!!

  16. They are lovely (and not even blue)!
    If that is your first attempt at colorwork I can’t wait to see what you come up with after a little practice!!

  17. You really are an amazing knitter – these look fantastic, and not just fantastic-for-a-first-ever-attempt!

    Look forward to seeing what you’re practising for!

  18. Ooh, i have to give this pattern another look – these turned out so well! I think I need some of my own ;)

  19. Amazing work. I don’t see any mistakes. Great colors too.

  20. 20 Tina J.

    Wow, these are amazing! I swore to myself, after really messing up a pair of colorwork socks, that I’d never try that again!! Well, it’s been a year, the pain of defeat far behind me, and I’m thinking maybe it’s time to give it another try… ugh….

    Tina J.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

